Country Women’s Association Neapolitan Cake

If you’re a fan of Masterchef (down under of course) you may recall Julie making the CWA Neapolitan cake in the All Stars series.

The cake is meant to be in 2 even layers (though cooked in one go), with the top half pink and strawberry flavoured, and the bottom half plain and coconut flavoured. Drops of strawberry jam go between the layers and top with a pink icing.

Image

So, the cake TASTED amazing. But unfortunately mine looked more like a marble cake and I really appreciate Julie’s perfectly even and sharp layering of colours even more now!

The cake was a perfect consistency, rose even, and although slightly overcooked on the outer layer, was relatively consistent throughout the whole cake. I did get a few holes in the edges where the jam had reached them and created air bubbles… Woops! Guess I won’t be taking any blue ribbons home at the easter show soon….

Image

For icing I used a tiny bit of butter (20-30 grams), icing sugar (2 cups, more or less depending on desired consistency), and a tablespoon of hot water. And colouring of course! It was good… nothing beats plain old icing!

Definitely making this again. Big tick in my book! And maybe next time I can get those layers straight!!!

8 thoughts on “Country Women’s Association Neapolitan Cake

    • I am sure it tasted delicious though (and that’s what counts!!!). Mine rose really nice and evenly, but I was disappointed with the layering of colours. I think I may have to try it again!!

      • I might have to get some tips on the rising evenly. Mine get a peak in the middle and crack. Of course this means i have to trim the top off the cake and test it πŸ˜›
        Your blog has put me in the mood for some baking πŸ™‚

      • I always get domed tops!! This was one of the first times a cake rose nice and evenly for me. I always put it down to my sub-par over, however I recently read a book that said a cake rises depending on the time/temperature you bake it for/at. A cake cooked for longer on a lower temperature (apparently) rises flatter, whilst a cake cooked quicker on a hotter temperature will rise more domed. Unsure of how true this is but maybe worth a shot! πŸ˜€

      • My oven is a big part of the problem too. I’ve also read that wrapping the cake tin in damp towels helps slow down the cooking and you end up with a flatter cake too. All things to try I guess. But at the end of the day as long as it tastes good πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Maricel, Sure thing.

      Ingredients:
      – 125 g butter, softened
      – 220 g (1 cup) sugar
      – 2 eggs
      – 300 g (2 cups) self-raising flour
      – pinch of salt
      – 125 ml (1/2 cup) milk
      – 25 g (1/4 cup) desiccated coconut
      – few drops of strawberry essence & pink food colouring
      – 6 teaspoons strawberry jam
      – pink icing, to serve (I used 1.5 cups of icing sugar, 10 g of butter & 2 tbspn boiling water, was great)

      1. Preheat oven to moderate (180* C, 350* F) & grease 8″ tin (round) + line base with baking paper
      2. Cream butter and sugar until pale and creamy. Add eggs one at a time and beat well. Sift the flour & salt, and stir into the creamed mixture alternately with the milk.
      3. Divide mixture into 2 even portions. To 1 half, add coconut. To the other half add a few drops of the essence and enough colouring to make it pale pink.
      4. In the prepared tin, spread white mixture on the bottom. Add strawberry jam in drops all over the mixture, and finally pour the pink mixture on top and spread out. Bake for 45 mins or until cooked. When cold ice with pink icing.

I know you have something good to say...!

