This Blog Has Gone to the Dogs. Actually.

Anyone who know me/follows me on facebook/has seen my instagram would know that when my little Maltese/Shih-tzhu Mason came into my life 4 months ago I became a crazy dog lady overnight.

Image

The only thing that fills my Facebook more than pictures of baking are pictures of my pup… so it seemed logical to bake for him. RIGHT?!

I got a dog biscuit cutter “from” Mason for Christmas and the brand that makes them also makes ready-to-mix cake and cookie mixes for animals HOWEVER I didn’t have one so I had to improvise. (Sorry, the brand name escaped me and I threw out the packaging but hopefully I will remember it eventually.)

Image

I settled on this recipe from Martha Stewart. It turned out okay however:

a. Brewers yeast is difficult to come by and INCREDIBLY expensive. I had to go to a brewery shop and they only sold it in 5 gram packets for $2.50, which added up pretty quick. It CANNOT be substituted for baking yeast – they are totally different things. Brewers yeast also is said to repel fleas in animals which is why I came across it in many recipes for dogs. I am fairly sure you could leave it out and they would still taste fine.

b. The dough was a really weird consistency. I was expecting something dense and easy to cut but it was really “doughy” and super sticky.

c. I am not sure what size cookie they are cutting to say it  makes 5 dozen. It really doesn’t.

But otherwise, they actually turned out okay. I haven’t brought myself to taste one but they look and smell a bit like those “gold fish” biscuit.

Image

And, well, they passed the ultimate test! Approval from Mason.

2 thoughts on “This Blog Has Gone to the Dogs. Actually.

I know you have something good to say...!

