The BEST EVER Sugar Cookies (and a Puppy Party)

Sorry for all the neglect recently, blog. I spent July galavanting around Europe & the UK, and then found myself suddenly back home and thrust into the rigours of university & work. It’s taken a little while to get back onto the baking wagon.

Image

Photographical proof I am not just making up excuses for being a lazy blogger. PS Get to Santorini before you die. Stunning!

So anyway. Let’s get down to business.

My little ball of fluff Mason recently turned ONE! And of course I wasn’t going to let that go by without some kind of celebration.

Image

In honour of Mason’s big milestone, my mum (yep, the same mum who never wanted a dog in our house) organised a little bit of a “doggy party,” combined with my Dad’s birthday celebrations. Sadly for my Dad, his big day was completely eclipsed by Mason’s, but it is tough for a middle-aged man to compete with a tail-wagging, face-licking ball of fluff!

The party was complete with a dog cake (you can buy the Diamond Dog Mix here, or through Dogue) – I can’t say it’s particularly delicious for human consumption (it tastes sort of like I would imagine cardboard to taste… like absolutely nothing) but the dog certainly loved it!

Image

For the humans, we had a slightly tastier plate of cookies to munch on. I am not the biggest cookie person but I can say without a doubt that these are the best freaking sugar cookies you will ever taste. Ever. The name of the recipe doesn’t lie – you can see the original here.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups butter, softened
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • And my addition: a whole lot of sprinkles! (or jimmies, for you strange Americans…)

Method:

  1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt.
  2. MY STEP: pour in as many sprinkles/jimmies/hundreds-and-thousands as you see fit! The more the better! (Who doesn’t love more colour and more sugar, right?) Fold into batter (or use dough-hook on a mixer)
  3. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight).
  4. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets.
  5. Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely.

Mason’s baby brother Baxter thought the cookies looked better than the cake!

Seriously. These are SO EASY and SO DELICIOUS! My 5 year old cousin can vouch for this. He had one in his hand every time I saw him!

Be warned: this batter makes HEAPS. I ended up with 50-something four-legged friends from the recipe, but don’t worry – they won’t last uneaten for very long.

TIP: The trick to amazing cookies is to take them out of the oven earlier than you think necessary. The best cookies are really soft and certainly not crunchy (think Subway style!). I cooked mine for 7 minutes each tray and took them out straight away. Remember they will firm up more as they cool, too, so don’t overcook them!

If you have a Kitchenaid, use your dough hook after you have creamed the butter. It makes life very easy!

Image

Exhibit A: Kitchenaid Dough Hook making life easy

CHOCOLATE VARIATION

I made these again, but I added melted chocolate to the recipe.

I would not rave about these so much. The melted chocolate made the dough really sticky, and an absolute nightmare to use with my m&m cookie cutters.

But they tasted okay! Luckily, since I had about 100 of them….

Image

Jesus Christ I’ll be eating these for years.

Keep Baking xo

I know you have something good to say...!

