A Fireman Turns 90

IMG_4932

This very RED cake was for an ex-fireman’s 90th birthday. It was my first figurine in a while so I was a little rusty! NEVER AGAIN will I be covering a cake in pure red fondant – it was SO soft and kept tearing and ripping everywhere! Luckily those flames were pretty forgiving! Since doing this cake I have done a class where we had to mix red with white and some colouring to make it easier to work with – so I guess I was a little naive here!

The ladder was made from fondant, and the 90 was made from fondant and airbrushed! The cake itself was a 9″ round mud cake with dark choc ganache.

Unfortunately I only have this one phone picture of the cake as I didn’t get the time to take proper photos, but they did send me this lovely pic of the birthday boy with his surprise!

IMG_4956

I know you have something good to say...!